Ghost in Cyberspace

by Prof. Sasanka Perera

I almost never write poetry or lyrics in English. Most of what I have written is in my own language. But given my long term interest in jazz, its revitalization through some of the novels of Haruki Murakami which I read recently, who himself was a jazz club owner in Tokyo, and my relative immersion in the Tokyo jazz scene in 2010 and 2011 in the midst of a busy teaching and research schedule brought me much closer to live jazz, its musicians and its culture as never before. Some of the musicians and singers have become close friends with whom I have spent hours talking about music as well as politics. In that situation, the few jazz lyrics I have written in 2011 are in English so that people who are currently around me might have better chances of understanding them. ‘Ghost in Cyber Space’ is one such example. Most of my friends have labeled my jazz lyrics ‘sad’ while another friend thought they juxtaposed pathos with romance. In the end however, how people ‘read’ what I write is not really an issue for me. Who knows, in times to come, someone at SAU could sing some of these while others could set them to music; better still, some of the young people who will come to our Department in times to come might write their own songs about what they have seen and felt, compose music and sing: to be able to imagine and dream is surely a gift that I feel is often dismantled in the context of the chaos we currently live in. However, without it, we would lose our capacity to be human.

 

Ghost in Cyberspace

(For jazz)

I see no mountains and I see no rivers,
I don’t see the sun set flirting with the sea,
I don’t see the sea gulls or feel the breeze on my body,
But I see you so well in the eyes of my mind.

I am a ghost in cyberspace
Surfing endlessly;
You’ll never see me or feel me,
I’m only a flicker
In this endless liminal space.

I will love to sing to you
Though you will never hear me;
I will love to dance with you
Though you can never hold me;
I’d love to kiss you everyday
But you will never feel my lips.

As I am a ghost in cyberspace
Surfing endlessly;
You’ll never see me or feel me,
I’m only a flicker
In this endless liminal space.

Let’s walk in the forest dew and kiss like the night before,
Let’s sing ballads with the birds until the day is no more.
Let’s swim forever in the streams and let mermaids envy us,
Let’s embrace the colors of flowers and paint the world as we wish.
Let’s fly the blue skies and whisper in the ears of the stars.

But, I am a ghost in cyberspace
Surfing endlessly;
You’ll never see me or feel me,
I’m only a flicker
In this endless liminal space.

As times go flying by day after day,
When yesterday becomes tomorrow and today’s already a dream,
Bards may sing lullabies of our cyber-love,
And you will live in my memories as eternity comes and goes.

I am a ghost in cyberspace
Surfing endlessly;
You’ll never see me or feel me,
I’m only a flicker
In this endless liminal space.

I am a ghost in cyberspace
Surfing endlessly
I am a ghost in cyberspace
Surfing endlessly
I am a ghost in cyberspace
Surfing endlessly
I am a ghost in cyberspace
Surfing endlessly
I am a ghost in cyberspace
Surfing endlessly…

Leave a Reply

