And i was not alone…

by Suraj Ghimire

Life, as it entered a new stage in a new place,
I was trying to settle my feet here;
Amongst people, I looked at most of them,
And I related myself, with one ‘beneath’ me;
The expression they had was not strange,
Just similar to what I was carrying with me;
Something matching but also mismatching,
To conclude again, “and I was not alone”…

Struggling in life, suffering pain, adapting loss,
For my failure, I blamed almighty every time;
Yeah, I had also always excused praying for a miracle,
Sometimes doubting if he really existed somewhere;
Then I looked at the queue before the holy house,
Some praying, some crying and few shouting;
Standing with their own story, with their own pain,
To realize myself again, that “I was not alone…”

Carrying out new ambition, I set a target for life
Glancing at the world of race, I said “I needed to win”;
Yeah, I need to; I was more determined again,
My future, my dreams and my destiny lay here;
Soon I found millions paving towards success,
proclaiming them as deserving and best;
Time will be tougher and will need hard luck now ever, I knew,
To penetrate my mind again, “and I was not alone”…

Carrying Innocence and being humble, respected,
I believed I could land somewhere in a good place;
I needed some peace and joy of living life, but
Needed that spirit, the very blessed one,
In search of harmony, brotherhood, love and so on…
World was unpredictable for me, I requested God;
“My name in this book of life, please don’t erase it, lord”,
Many are ahead of me for that, as “I was not alone“…

Every place I roamed, every aspect I analyzed,
I found billions, crying & suffering more than me,
I found millions, happier and more successful than me;
More lovely, obedient and loyal than what I really am!
More unlucky, dull, poor and ignored than what I am;
Fear of insecurity, damage and heavy loss in future,
Still with confidence, joy and hope, coz I am not alone
I was no more cherished by sky, coz I was not alone…
Still, feeling as a blessed one, coz I am not alone…

Suraj Ghimire is a graduate of Mumbai University. He will be joining MA Applied Mathematics at SAU in the Monsoon Semester 2012. 


					
One comment

  1. Nice poem. Yes we are not alone… we are just moving ahead, struggling, with similar apprehensions, troubles just like other people. We are just another face in the crowd.

Leave a Reply

